appreciation · beach · driving · grateful · happy · journey · on this day · sea turtles · serendipity · travel · Turtles · Uncategorized · vacation · writing

On this day

Some words or phrases that I like, I tend to overuse.  I incorporate them into my go to words & basically beat them to death until I annoy everyone around me & they beg me to stop.  I don’t think I am alone in that, or I hope I am not.

Then there are words that become almost sacred, rarely used, only brought out for special occasions,

One of those words for me is serendipity.

Serendipity for some is a movie or a famous ice cream place.  It is a word I don’t often see or hear (which just makes it better).

So, there is a new feature that facebook has called ‘on this day’ which shows you all of the posts you made on this day since you created your account.

Honestly, I knew it was coming.  I didn’t remember the exact date but I was completely aware that it was going to tell me that ‘on this day’ (apparently June 6th 2013) my status was simply,

Serendipity.

One definition I found from a google search –

the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way.
“a fortunate stroke of serendipity”

 

I have spent a lot of time in the last few years working to appreciate my life, not just big things but as many things as possible.  I have also worked really hard being grateful for all of the amazing things, people and experiences in my life.  I say this because for so long I just wished my life away without realizing it.  I would wish it was Friday, I would wish the school year was over (or sometimes the summer vacation would end & the school year would start).  I would wish my kids would get out of whatever glorious stage they were in.  So, in a lot of ways, I wished years, probably decades away.  The antidote for me is to deliberately work at being present in my life, the appreciation & the gratitude of what I have right now and how amazing and blessed I am.

That day 3 years ago was just different.

I was on vacation (a bonus) and was really happy.  The thing about it though was that it was a travel day, a day when the plan was to drive, drive for hours.

That day had a few surprises in store and in the middle of that day, serendipity just quietly took itself out of storage and just waited to be recognized.

It was a morning of coffee and beach walking

It was the day I received a lesson on that beach about sea turtles

It was the day I received the gift of being able to help transfer almost 100 turtle eggs from their unsafe location to a safer home

It was a day that a random stop for gas became the grand opening of a new rest stop with free food and clean bathrooms

In some ways, it was a normal day.  On that day, it was the combination of every single thing.  On that day, 3 years ago, every single moment of that day from amazing to mundane was………..

Serendipity

Leave a Reply

