awareness · blog · blogging · friends · friendship · grateful · gratitude · growth · journey · learn · learning · observations · quotes · self discovery · thoughts · Uncategorized · wisdom · women · words · writing

the door & the window

‘When a door closes, a window opens’

There are probably untold variations of that quote.  The inspirational message that although something ended or you didn’t get what you want, there is always another direction for you to travel.

I know for me personally, sometimes I don’t realize until much later that there was a window there, it just didn’t look like a window at the time.

I have been blessed with a few friendships that have stood the test of time.  People in my life by choice that have been there & continue to be regardless of time or distance.  I was never one to need a lot of people around me, I actually don’t do well with a huge circle.

When I moved to a different state, my children were not super little.  The interaction with other parents was not required at the same level as when your children are really young.  I also was blessed to be able to take my job with me & work from home.  In a thousand ways, it was amazing to have the ability to help my kids transition to a new home, schools & totally new life.

It did not really allow for me to meet new people, so for the first few years down here, with the exception of my brother & his family, I was pretty much alone.

No need to feel bad for me,  I don’t mind being alone & my focus was directed at creating stability & a new normal for my kids.

So, last year the relationship I was in ended.  Should you be bored, filter through this blog & you can see lot’s of bits & pieces of some things I shared.  This would be a good example of a door closing.

For a long while, I didn’t realize the window that opened.  I think that since it was a romantic relationship door that closed, I unwittingly assumed it would be a romantic window that opened.  (If this is the first blog post of mine that you are reading, please know, I have never claimed to be the sharpest tool in the shed).

There is a woman in my neighborhood who tried on & off in the last few years to have get togethers with neighbors & include people.  At some point, I think she adopted me & would literally personally invite me to things.  I went to some, not to others.

Through her persistence, I wound up meeting a group of women.  Not a big group, but a good group.  We are all different in some ways & similar in others.  None of us are interested in drama, all of us support each other.  We are all in different places in our lives yet all share common traits.

So, the window was the introduction of my girls.  The forging of new friendships, creating relationships with these women, provides me with new & different support.  I don’t know that these two things are mutually exclusive, I may have met them anyway, but a year later what I do know is that I am so glad that there is always a window waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

