awareness · balance · bedding · beliefs · blog · blogging · change · emotions · grateful · gratitude · growth · happiness · hilton · journey · lessons · life · mom · mother · organization · parenting · personal growth · self discovery · thoughts · travel · Uncategorized · vision · wisdom · women · words · writing

the corner

This past weekend I was able to spend some time with my girl.  She apparently missed me too & decided to stay with me in the hotel Saturday night.  She has only been gone since mid August but she has changed.  She is responsible for herself now, being off at college and it is pretty cool to see that although she looks the same, she isn’t.

One thing that hasn’t changed was her unwillingness to get out of bed & get into the shower within a reasonable timeframe in the morning.  If you read my blog about perks, there was nothing interesteing left to see in the parking lot & we planned to have breakfast before I drove home.

While waiting for her to get ready, I sat down to write down some of the thoughts I had.  In my direct line of vision was the comforter from my bed. A white design on a white comforter.  Nothing about it was loud or called attention to itself, it was just quietly pretty doing it’s job, keeping me warm while I slept.

photo 2 (2)

Until then, I really hadn’t noticed anything about it except that it was the bedding on my bed.  As I took the time to really look at it & see it, I realized that I liked it.  It was interesting with a design running all through it slightly raised, but soft & comfortable.

I went back to writing, realizing it was in a lot of ways, the way I think of myself these days.  It, in some ways reminded me of who I am becoming.  Hopefully softer in some ways, perhaps not something that screams at you or commands your attention but if you take the time to look at it, you might find many interesting things about it.

If it had been bedding with a bold pattern or lot’s of colors, I wouldn’t have taken the time to really look at it at all.

Then I saw it

photo 1 (2)

The top corner, opposite side of where I slept was the hole, the imperfection that to some would take away from it.  It made me connect to this blanket even more.

It seems silly to some I’m sure, but my life has changed rather dramatically in a multitude of ways in the last year.  With all of these changes, I have been really working on me.  For whatever reason the pretty, interesting, imperfect blanket made me smile and think that perhaps I am getting it together.

The ‘connection’ I made to it was symbolic, it was recognizing things about myself by looking at bedding.  Who knows where inspiration might strike.

The other aspect of this for me is making a real effort to be present.  To appreciate each moment, to actually see what is around me.  I stayed at another Hilton Garden Inn in August & although I did notice the change they made to all of their lobbies, I didn’t notice the comforter as anything more than the blanket it was that night.

This is one of my baby steps.

I also discovered that morning that my girl child when in a hotel shower, does not even think about the shower curtain & liner.  So, I made sure I left an bigger tip for housekeeping for virtually flooding the bathroom floor.  So as responsible as she is becoming, she still needs me (or actually needed me before the shower but I’ll take what I can get).

 

One thought on “the corner

Leave a Reply

