5lovelanguages · awareness · books · change · grateful · gratitude · growth · journey · lessons · life · love · personal growth · self discovery · thoughts · wisdom · women · words

What is your language

A few years ago I purchased the book ‘The 5 Love Languages’ which had been recommended to me.

I will be honest because that is what I try to do here.  I read the book & could not figure out what my love language was.  When you are at a place in your life where you are unhappy & unclear, sometimes you are not ready for the message you are trying to learn.

I was so frustrated that I could not get out of my ‘head’ and figure out my feelings about a seemingly simple quiz.  The quiz is a question followed by 2 choices.  You are supposed to determine which of the 2 choices you would prefer.  Would you rather your partner (a) or (b).

So here we are a few years later & a LOT of work on myself later.  The passage of time &  moving forward made me go back to the book.

For those who have not read this book, Gary Chapman describes 5 languages that are the most common ways people give & receive love.  Not understanding what your language is or the language your partner speaks often leads to unhappiness in a relationship.  It’s not about the ‘love’ exactly, it’s more about getting what you need the way you need it.  It really makes sense.

The 5 languages are:  Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service & Physical Touch

When you think about it, some of it is easy to determine if you think about it.

What makes you feel good/better?

~ your partner giving you a gift

~ you partner giving you a hug

or how about

~ telling you they appreciate you

~ doing the dishes or keeping the house clean

Do yourself a favor whether you are in a relationship or not, get the book, read it & take the quiz.  When you know what you ‘need’ & what your partner ‘needs’ it makes things so much easier.

FYI –

I am Words of Affirmation

with Acts of Service running a strong 2nd 🙂

Leave a Reply

