balance · blog · children · fast food · feelings · food · funny · humor · life · questions · society · Uncategorized · women · writing

Take me back…

I have a dilemma & a confession

One of the things I have come to know
In the grand scheme of things, most people do not care what I think.  No camera crew is staked out at my house waiting for me to let the world know my thoughts or feelings.  My phone is not ringing with people asking my opinion on the state of the world.

So here is my dilemma & confession
I occasionally enjoy waffle fries with Chic-fil-A sauce.  There I said it.

A few years ago, no one would have cared.  Now that statement has new strings attached above & beyond the old food choice issue.

Disregarding the health aspect of said addiction, everything in our society seems to have become more.  Suddenly, what was once simply an unhealthy meal choice has morphed into something decidedly more complex.
If you purchase from Chic-fil-A you are somehow agreeing with the corporate views they have.
Why?

It honestly has no bearing on my thoughts, feelings or beliefs outside of the fact as I stated earlier, sometimes I really want some waffle fries & that silly delicious sauce.  I am not trying to make a statement in anyway, short of I don’t feel like cooking or as we have already established I really want their food.

Let’s add a layer to this….Parent pressure, school ‘events’
‘Spirit Night’ for the schools my children go to.
On certain nights, a percentage of your fat & cholesterol is donated to a specific school (I mean a tiny percentage of the amount of cash you spend on fat & cholesterol).
Does supporting your child’s school somehow give you a break or are you automatically a ‘supporter’ of more than just your child’s school by simply going through the drive through?

To be clear, I am in no way trying to belittle things people feel deeply and strongly about. I have my own beliefs which I have found are only interesting to people who have opposing views because it offers them a platform to explain why I am wrong.
I just wish things could go back to being simple.

Back to the days where you were only judging my eating choices.

Back to the days when watching me turn into the parking lot, you were thinking…I bet she doesn’t need that or creating a mental picture of the size of my ass.
I just wish the only thing I had to think about was if I am willing to take the calorie/fat hit today.

Leave a Reply

